Hurling Computer Game On The Way!!!

A forum to air your views on Offaly GAA matters and beyond.
Irish Guardian
Junior C

Hurling Computer Game On The Way!!!

Post by Irish Guardian »

Hello everybody, a long-time reader, first time poster here. Before pursuing a postgrad in journalism, I studied marketing in college and noticed that one of this site’s surfers added threads that were not just very sensational but that adhered to the principles of retro marketing, a school of thought devised by an eccentric professor by the name of Stephen Browne. So I investigated my hunch and was pretty astounded with the examination’s results.
To get to the point, some of you may have noticed that a username of “Tailteann Games” was posting threads on not only this forum saying that Cork hurlers got food-poisoned and that Eoin Quigley was been linked with Celtic. Within these threads, the line “Bainisteoir – Hurling…Coming Soon” was evident at the very end. So what is Bainsteoir Hurling only a soon-to-be launched Hurling computer game where you take on the role of a county team manager!!! And who are “Tailteann Games” but its designers!! From what I have gathered, each of these posts is in fact a plotline from the computer game, which in true retro marketing style has been “drip-fed” to us, the unsuspecting public in “teaser” fashion!! The magazines/newspapers and journalists that “wrote” the “articles” within the posts are also publications and reporters whom the game-player interacts with in the game!!! The game apparently has the backing of the players, which means that all of the country’s top hurlers are included! I’m over the moon to hear about this as I loved Championship Manager and often wondered would a hurling equivalent ever be created. Exciting times for GAA fans indeed!!

Rynaghs Biffo
All Star

Post by Rynaghs Biffo »

Heres two articles from the Hoganstand, see what you make of it.

Hurling computer game on the way