Kinnitty Poc Fada

A forum to air your views on Offaly GAA matters and beyond.
Post Reply
User avatar
Slieve Bloom Man
County player
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 5:47 pm

Kinnitty Poc Fada

Post by Slieve Bloom Man » Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:51 pm

Hi lads!
If anyone is looking for a bit of GAA activity and bit of craic on St Stephen's Day then join us in Kinnitty for our annual Poc-Fada.

Kinnitty GAA Club Poc Fada

St. Stephen's Day 2012

Have you a better strike of a sliotar than former Offaly Greats such as Ger Coughlan, Johnny Flaherty, Mark Corrigan, Michael Duignan. Liam Carroll or Paudie Delaney? Maybe you believe you can hit the ball further than our current Offaly players Shane Dooley, Diarmaid Horan or James Dempsey? Well here's your chance to take them on!

Kinnitty GAA Club, is pleased to announce the launch of our Fourth Annual Poc Fada competition. The poc fada will take place on St. Stephen's Day, Wednesday 26th December 2012 at 12 noon.

For the past three years we have run this highly enjoyable event just outside Kinnitty village. It consists of a team of two players taking turns to hit a sliotar along a two mile course along the Walk Road, starting at the junction at Knockbarron and finishing at the edge of the village. The aim is to finish the course with the least amount of pucks of the sliotar. It is open to everyone of any age to participate.

Prizes this year will include the Perpetual Trophy, a meal for two kindly sponsored by The Thatch Old World Bar & Restaurant, and ash hurls donated by local hurley makers Johnny Flaherty and Peadar Robinson and a cultec hurl as well.

The overall winners will be presented with the Trophy in the green in the centre of the village at 3pm. This year we will also have prizes for the following categories;
-Over 50’s
-Women Adult
-Mixed Adult
-Adult/ Juvenile (e.g. Mother & Daughter)

Entry fee for Adults €10, Juveniles & Students €5. Complimentary Bushmills hot whiskey or tea/coffee will be provided for all participants at Giltraps Pub at 3pm. Prizes will also be presented at this time. All are welcome and we would love to see participants join us from neighbouring clubs and indeed even from further afield!

Previous Winners:
2009 Christopher Leonard and James Dempsey
2010 Christopher Leonard and James Dempsey
2011 Peadar and Tom Robinson.

Each of the categories will only become official when a minimum of 4 teams (8 competitors) enter. Each team will be provided with a scorecard and one sliotar. Two teams (4 players) start off together and mark each other's scorecards, which are then handed in at the end of the course. All Juveniles must be accompanied by an adult. We would like to have all teams started by 1pm so arrive early.

Post Reply