Offaly Association Dublin Dinner Dance 10/04/2010

A forum to air your views on Offaly GAA matters and beyond.

Offaly Association Dublin Dinner Dance 10/04/2010

Postby Bord na Mona man » Fri Mar 26, 2010 3:03 pm

The Offaly Association's annual dinner dance takes place at the Burlington Hotel, Dublin on Saturday April 10.
The Offaly hurlers of 1985 will be honoured and the 2009 Offaly Person of the Year award which has been won by Shane Lowry will be presented.

Tickets are now available, details below...

Shane Lowry 'holes' Person of the Year accolade

CLARA golfer Shane Lowry has been unveiled as the 2009 Offaly Person of the Year by the Offaly Association, Dublin. By scooping the prestigious award it rounds off a hugely memorable year in his life having shot to world-wide stardom following his stunning success at the Irish Open in Baltray, Co Louth in May last year.
Appearing in his first professional tournament as an amateur, Shane shot a 62, a joint record for an amateur, in the second round to streak to the top of the leader-board, and the title was eventually secured after an absorbing play-off with England's Robert Rock amid emotional scenes on the Sunday evening.

It was only the third time that an amateur had won an event on the European Tour and, unsurprisingly, Shane opted to turn professional a few days later.

By then the 22-year-old had already carved out an impressive career on the amateur circuit having previously won events such as the Irish Amateur Close Championship, the West of Ireland Championship and the North of Ireland Championship to move as high as six in the world amateur rankings.

Since turning professional Shane has made steady progress and finished the year strongly with third place in the Dunlop Phoenix Tournament in Japan. A strong performance in the Abu Dhabi Golf Championship in January pushed him into the top 100 golfers in the world. He is currently ranked at number 90.

"There was a very impressive list of nominees for the 2009 Offaly Person of the Year award," explained Offaly Association Chairperson Martin Delaney, "However Shane's stunning success at Baltray coupled with his further progress since turning professional made it almost impossible for him to be overlooked. He is a most worthy winner."

Shane becomes the 23rd winner of the award since the scheme was initiated by the Offaly Association, Dublin in 1988 when former GAA President John Dowling (RIP) was the inaugural winner.

As 2009 winner, Shane succeeds the Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann Organising Committee of Attracta Brady, Tom Bourke, Mary Berry, Karen O'Grady and Louis O'Dwyer who oversaw the hugely successful event in Tullamore in 2007, '08 and '09.

The award, which is kindly sponsored by Coolderry native Noel Tynan of the Celtic Lodge Bar and Guesthouse on Talbot St, Dublin, will be presented at the Offaly Association's annual dinner dance in the Burlington Hotel, Dublin on April 10 next.

It promises to be a terrific occasion with the Offaly hurlers' All-Ireland success of 1985 also being marked on the night.

Tickets for the function are available from Martin Delaney (086) 6028345, Pat Nolan (087) 6101773, Donal Cunningham (086) 6189857, Liam Fleury (087) 6169192, Ann Carey (086) 1626618, Liam Leogue (086) 2475567 or any Offaly Association committee member.

The Offaly Person of the Year roll of honour reads -
John Dowling RIP (1988), Fr Tom Scully (1989), Eddie Joe Dooley RIP (1990), Paddy Larkin RIP (1991), Brian Cowen TD (1992), Michael Byrne (1993), Jane Feehan (1994), James Nolan (1995), Kieran Keenaghan (1996), Br Denis Minehan (1997), Tom Parlon (1998), Matt Connor (1999), Brian Whelahan (2000), Dr Philip Brady (2001), Maura Allen and John Horan (2002), Seamus Carroll (2003), Miriam O'Callaghan (2004), Tom and Paul Mangan (2005), Sr Oliver Wrafter (2006), Stephen Grant (2007), Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann Organising Committee (2008) and Shane Lowry (2009).
User avatar
Bord na Mona man
All Star
Posts: 3499
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:34 am

Return to Offaly GAA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests